Group photo of AMW participants 2018

The annual Asilomar Microcomputer Workshop brings together the movers, shakers, nerds, and greybeards of the industry.

From the invitation to the first conference in April 1975,

Large-scale integration has made the computer-on-a-chip a practical system component. As a result, microprocessor architecture, hardware and software is currently the most dynamic area in the computer field. The objective of this workshop is to bring together the users and the manufacturers of microprocessors in an attempt to understand the unique characteristics of microprocessors and explore ways of enhancing the range of microprocessor applications. The focus will be on the unique aspects of microcomputers as system components.

Program Committee

Core Committee
Dennis Allison
Brian Berg
Mark Cummings
Janet Guns
Dewayne Hendricks
Robert Kennedy
Bruce Koball
Marianne Mueller
Tim Požár
Jie Qi
Ken Shoemaker
Kathleen Tuite

Peripheral Committee
Bill Cheswick
Mary Eisenhart

Brain Trust
Bob Cousins
David S.H. Rosenthal
Jen Snow

Emeritus Committee
Fred Clegg
Fred Terman

Chairman in Perpetuity
John Wharton (1954-2018)

The Asilomar Microcomputer Workshop is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit incorporated in the state of California. Donations are welcome, and tax deductible!